Doing it all in Central Park…

Central Park is a must-do for any trip to New York

Central Park is a must-do for any trip to New York

One of my favourite places in New York City is Central Park, in fact it is one of my favourite spots in the world.  I used to live steps from the park, I trained for a marathon in the park, I finished a marathon in the park, I saw the NY Philharmonic Orchestra in the park, I hung out with friends in the park, I rowed a boat in the park, I painted, photographed and wrote about the park, I had snowball fights in the park, often I would just stroll in the park – stroll around the reservoir, up to the Loch complete with waterfall, past the Central Park Zoo where I would stop and watch the sea lions whizzing around their pool, wander past the Met or over to the Guggenheim, through to Cedar Hill and down to the Conservatory Pond, through the Ramble and to Bethesda Fountain where I would sit and be content in my perfect surroundings. It is an idyllic park, laughing children are playing soccer or baseball in the sunshine, beautiful people are jogging around the reservoir, families with their perfect pedigree pups are going for a walk, friends are having picnics, a lone saxaphone plays smooth jazz to whoever is listening. There is such a buzz in Central Park you will not be short of things to see and do – ice-skating in the winter, watching the roller disco that has had veterans skating there for decades, Shakespeare in the park, a concert on the Great Lawn. There is so much to see and do in Central Park, it is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the city at any time of the year, whether you fancy a jog, a picnic or merely a stroll just to take it all in. I love the park in all seasons and with it’s charming bridges, statues, quirky castles, pretty lamps, ponds and lush green lawns I am sure that you will love this iconic landmark too and make your own wonderful memories.

 

