Eating in a Mediterranean Garden in Manhattan…

Sunny lunch in a corner of Soho

Sunny lunch in a corner of Soho

One of my favourite eating spots for sunny days in New York City is Barolo. This long-established restaurant tucked away in Soho has a fantastic menu with Italian classics and a superb selection of reliable pasta dishes that have stayed put on the menu since I have been going (over 7 years) and include such choices as ragu with rabbit or penne cooked in vodka. The service is fantastic with Italian waiters and an old sommelier who will help you pick your wine and on one occasion brought out a dust-covered bottle from the wine cellar and it was one of the most amazing wines I have ever tasted! My favourite feature of this restaurant is the garden, with bright sunny yellow walls, Mediterranean-style trees and pretty fairy lights it is a beautiful space and on a sunny day in New York City lunch here is such a treat! I have just checked the website for the URL and am very sad to see that this restaurant has just closed it’s doors (http://www.nybarolo.com/) after many years in business. I hesitated about publishing this post but have seen that they have another location just around the corner, I Tre Merli, so I do plan to dine there soon and will report back!

http://www.itremerli.com

